neither either or (2/Oct/17)

it’s as if winter is already here…
still everyone hold their breath…

in the under when for just a moment the air is sucked away into the tunnel of the oncoming train…
when the sea retreats for miles quicker and further than any would normally muster before the waves defiantly return in anger…
the space before the speaker speaks with bad news still baited on the hook of the last breath, news deep inside you already know…
the dazzle in a foxes eyes before the impact… roadkill…

mourning and anticipation hang in equal measure…….

it’s back to school or back to work though some have never been away and some have neither either or to mark the days from one into the next……

the wind still has a lot to say…
far from backward in coming forward…
loud and proud indeed….
it’s still rabbiting on as I sit here wrapped in duvet and woolly blanket draped across my shoulders…… hark at me! like some old codger recalling a bygone-ago way back in the way back when in some dim and distant once upon a….. now where was I…. I’m wondering now where the word ‘codger‘ derives…. some say it comes from ‘cadge‘ but that wouldn’t make sense and is grasping at bent straws….. I think it’s from ‘cogitate‘ as that’s the assumption made than when you’re old you have all the time in the world to do little but ponder, thus cogitate….. glad I sorted that one out before getting up……

it’ll be time soon to extract myself from aforementioned duvet and blanket, but not before I slurp down this cup of hot tea…… well, that was a waste of word, ‘hot‘, of course the tea is hot, it’s tea…….. ice tea! what’s that? no, no, no, ice in tea is all wrong……

finished my most recent read last night so must scour the bookshelves for my next tome to indulge me…… or could be a saunter to the bookshop…… I’ll cogitate on it……

autumn’s getting quite a head of steam now, still chunterin’ away outside making its feeling known…
“know me puny human!”
it pronounces in autumniacal tones…….. if I didn’t know better I’d say it got up from the wrong side of the bed except I know it hasn’t even been to bed… no wonder it’s grouchy….. maybe it needs some cogitation-time…….

© robert greig 2017

Leave a Reply

