garden guardian, 26/July/17

the Robin is the gardeners best friend, the garden guardian…. a guardener, if you will……. he, or she, spent all the time I was in the garden pulling out an old fence and pruning back things that need pruning back…… the ability to be in more than one place at once… there he was in front of me then I turn around and the Robin’s behind me……. trying to make me think there’s more than just the one, I was surrounded by a single Robin……… I’d like to think I was keeping Robin company as much as he was me but in truth I’m no more than background noise, a means to an end, and to free food with their focus firmly fixed on anything stirred, disturbed or exposed during my thrashings… wiggly worms, scattering spiders, worried woodlice…. if it moved then Robin would be down there making a grab for it…. we kept a respectful distance from one another, mostly determined by Robin who even perched once on the handle of my spade while I was holding it, but there was always a distance….. we shared a garden and little else……. he never even shared what food he caught, but then again I didn’t give over any of my lunch either so all’s fair I suppose………. we weren’t after the same things but we were in the same place at the same time not expecting anything from one another….. I did expose some slugs at which we both stared and neither of us decided was edible, leave that to the thrushes, exactly Robin, my thoughts too……….  this morning’s raining, feels like ages since it’s rained but I haven’t forgotten what it’s like, drip-drip, wet-wet, plut-plut-plut on my roof……… me and Robin still keep our respectful distance, him out there and me in here, that’s fair I think as my feathers aren’t waterproof……….

© robert greig 2017

Leave a Reply

