diary

experimental cloud-biscuits, 10/June/17

hi… come in…. let me take your coat and hang that somewhere to dry…. pull up a chair by this fire, that storm has really soaked you through…… coffee?…… ah yes, hot chocolate, of course, what else!………

so tell me of your day…….. oh, you want to hear about mine?….. not much to say really…….. it was sunny, warm, ha ha ha, remember that, it seems like it was only yesterday, oh wait, it was!…… you wouldn’t believe it now looking out and listening to the rain now streaming across the roofs and roads and whipping the trees into a dervish frenzy…….. I know, there’s nowt so strange as weather……..

as I was saying it was a fine day, got basket-loads of washing done, hung out and dried…. would you believe it!…. within mere hours, I know, now that is hot……. mind though, there was a suggestion of a cool breeze, a breezlet maybe, or breezling, but of course that wasn’t a bad thing and certainly was welcome while I logged up my faithful mature laburnum tree which had finally given up its roots to one of last winter’s storms…….. I know it is a sad loss, I’d say maybe 18 feet at its topmost too, spreading like a delta into the sky and at the right time of the year a veritable cascade of yellow dangles…. yes, daft I know, but I call them dangles because obviously, they dangle!…… and their scent!…….. to live for let me tell you!…… oh, of course you know, ha ha ha ha, you too have had to put up with me saying “smell my dangles” smell my dangles!”………. ok, I know, me and my innuendos, what am I like!………..

oh also, I whispered a bee out of the house……… yes, yes, I will, I will add that to my CV now, ‘bee-whisperer’, alongside ‘experimental gentleman’ and ‘sock-awareness champion 2016’………… yes, I never understood the last one either but I have the certificate to prove it, want to see it?… oh you’ve seen it, you’ve seen it every time you come here…….. ok, ha ha ha, I can take a hint, we’ll leave all talk of socks in the sock drawer, if you know what I mean…… oh, you don’t know, ok, well actually neither do I…. moving on then……

biscuit?…….. yes indeed take two, ginger and cranberry made to my own secret recipe….. actually not that secret, just throw it all into a bowl, slap them on a tray and into the oven and hope for the best….. I shall not add biscuiteer to my CV that’s for sure!…… what else did I do?…… well, I counted some clouds, then lost count… clouds are like that, they tease you in saying “count me, count me” and then go swirling and tangling and changing shape and before you know it it’s like a load of exploded cotton balls…….

oh, and yes, there was some kind of election-thingy going on…. oh, you’ve never heard of it?……… well, it’s where a load of people get together and give someone permission to tell them lies and wear bad hair……… no, I don’t understand it either but it’s all the rage here, they seem to have them nearly every month!…….. more hot chocolate?……….

© robert greig 2017

Leave a Reply

