half-built ark, 6/June/17

ok who broke the weather?…. own up now, who was it?…….. I know it wasn’t me, not this time anyway………… yes I know I’ve done it before that’s surely all water under the bridge…….. or spilled milk we don’t cry over, whichever one anyway……… someone left it trailing across the floor and I didn’t see it and tripped over it, as you do, and heard a clatter, crash, bang behind me and yes, I broke the weather that time……….. and I admit it wasn’t the first time, I know, but it was just that one other time when I kicked a ball through it and it shattered into a million raindrops and ok admittedly you did have to start building an ark that time but, but, in my defense…. ummm…… ok I have no defence….. and I did deserve to spend time in the naughty-corner…….. anyway, the point is who did it this time….. stop looking at me!……… hard to believe only two days ago I was sitting by a river basking in dappled shade and dancing sun watching dippers and grey wagtails, a robin doing an impression of a dipper and a waterfall…… which are aptly-named dontcha think?……. water + falling = waterfall…… makes sense….. but is the water fall the water falling or the what the water’s falling over?……… I blame the US president, who shall remain nameless as I don’t want to be washing my mouth out with soap again….. not for waterfalls, for wrecking the weather……… apparently after our recent terrorist attacks here he is “with us all the way”…….. oh dear, you know you’re in trouble when he’s on your side………. I think it’s time to “beam me up  Scotty!”……..it’s not stopped raining all night…. ALL night………. as I drifted to sleep to its dancing feet on the roof and windows and walls I tried to remember where I’d put that half-built ark………..

© robert greig 2017

Leave a Reply

