birds · cooking · diary · eating · environment · food · Fron Goch · garden centre · gardening · gardens · potato · sustainability · Wales

the baked potato incident, 31/May/17

as I lay back on my pillow upon my bed finally at the far end of the day I wondered….. what should I dream (…. perchance to dream) as the last lingering doubts of a last dusk-bird, a goldfinch, are strained from the coda of his dusk-song……… should I dream of peace on earth or a better future, or about going to Space or even rollerblading on clouds?…… or should I dream of eating a baked potato as big as my head?……. oh wait, I did that, yesterday at the garden centre for lunch……. incidentally along with a pie of tasty cheese and hand-picked salad…………

…. ok, you got me, it wasn’t quite as big as my head (not that my head’s that big incidentally) but it quite possibly one of the largest  ones I’ve ever eaten….. and I’ve eaten lots (in my life that is, not in a single sitting…. another incidentally)…………. properly over-cooked with that too-perfection oven-cooked skin and just-soft, clean white flesh inside……… not your pathetic excuse of a microwaved one, this was the genuine article, oh yes indeedy-doody, grown locally and ate locally, by me!……….

…. you caught me……. over the years they’ve become one of my ‘things‘…. not baked potatoes, though they’ve been one of my ‘things‘ for donkeys years, or even potato years!……….. that visiting garden centres ‘thing‘……… maybe it’s become a fetish (I could think of worse…)……. or a sign of middle-age, I don’t care…….. the best ones always being the locally-based, independently-owned, whose main focus being plants, plants and plants and not a plethora of generic bought-in trinkets from some anonymous warehouse in some anonymous somewhere, and of course with an excellent cafe based on a true love of food as this one was…. Fron Goch in north Wales, brimming with food awards and the food to prove it……. (oh my god, I’m sounding like an advertisement!)…… and where I consumed a baked potato the size of my head……. ok, ok, not quite that big……..

© robert greig 2017

Leave a Reply

