anxiety · birds · birdsong · Dawn Chorus · diary · holidays · kites · ornithology · politics · red kite · Talking Heads · travel · Wales

kaos and kites, 13/May/17

a kite! a kite!…. look a kite!….
not the papery, flappy kind hanging on for dear life with a piece of string kind, the red kind, the red kite, the bird! the bird!
look, there’s another one…. and another…. and another!?.…….

ok ok, I get it, I’m in ‘Red Kite Country’, of course mid-Wales and all that, as common as buzzards are back home in the north……. I better keep my excitement to myself or be exposed as a……………. tourist!……… but this is not my first rodeo here in Kite-country so I should know better as I’ve seen it all before…. but, but, but… in my defence Kites are awesome and you’d have to be dead not to go “wow!” when seeing one…….. and so I secretly do silent “wow’s!” restraining myself when out in public so as to maintain at least a modicum of dignity and street-cred………. (street-cred! moi!!… allows myself a tiny giggle)……. so here I am on so-called ‘holiday(deserving only single inverted commas)……..

…… over the hills are far away in a somewhere somewhere far from my normal madding somewhere to the north of the mid where I am waving to you from right now……… I must get a grip, get some strong and stable blogging going on here and not the coalition of chaos being expounded between these lines right here right now…….. me thinks I’m channeling politicians, with all this election tomfoolery now in full swing here….. campaign signs everywhere, some just HUGE!…….. this morning’s dawn chorus sounded a bit like a coalition of chaos I must say, albeit still making more sense than any politician ever does… and unlike most politicians, it was worth listening too, every trilling tweet… as in bird tweet that is………… I suppose now I’m here I should make an effort to actually lock into some kind of ‘holiday mode‘… or ‘break from the norm’?……. though is this more or less normal from my usual?……..

….. I feel a babbling coming on, if I haven’t already started on such a train of consciousness… where exactly am  going with this blog….
I’m not sure….
you tell me…..
this is is what first nights in strange places does to me, totally fuddles with my circuitry………
will normal service be resumed….
ever!?……..
and how will I know what is an what isn’t?……
and I may tell myself, this is not my beautiful house!……
letting the days go by let the water hold me down, letting the days go by water flowing underground, into the blue again
…….
the wide, blue whatever………..
there’s an off-switch here somewhere……..

ah, here it is………………………[o]

© robert greig 2017

Leave a Reply

