who are me, 7/May/17

round and round and round we go where we stop no one knows…. here we go round the mulberry bush…….. ring a-ring a-rosies and pocketful of posies……. I’m so dizzy my head is spinning and I don’t like being dizzy, I tend to fall over, get knocked down and can’t get up again….. slip sliding away and skating on the thin ice of a new day……. it’s the end of the world as we know it, again!……….. what goes round comes around… and round and round and round……. the lunatics have taken over the asylum!…. oh wait, they did that ages ago…. perhaps I’m one of them… hmm……. I am! I am! I am one of them!… one of who?…. who me?!……. never one of them, just one of me……… and what did I do wrong to be me?……….. I could’ve been anyone, anybody, anywho but no, I had to be me….. I could’ve been interesting, intriguing, enigmatic, the go-too guy, a hero just for one day, a mover, a shaker, a trend-setter, taste-maker, the icing on the cake, space captain, leader of the pack, hi-octane behemoth…. a what!?…….. I could’ve been happy and clappy, the one and only, a somebody, someone but no……. I’m this me….. this no-me…. m(undan)e…… … an absence, a gap, a vacuum (I do like a “uu” syllable every now and then)…….. I know people say to be thankful for what you got and who you are but really….  somewhat of a tall order and would require bucket-loads of self-delusion and wishful-thinking and miles of sticky-back plastic!…………. cross your fingers, cross your toes and hope that you don’t lose your nose………. coming apart at every nail, tack and stitch, tack and stitch, can’t quite reach and scratch that itch……….

© robert greig 2017

Leave a Reply

