anthropology · cafe · conversation · culture · diary · eavesdropping · nonsense · writing

like a banana, 27th December 2016

it’s nice out there….. just making a phone call…. see what’s on offer…. shall I get you a tray….. just a little too small….. we won’t do flesh!….. just a little too small… if that doesn’t liven you up nothing will…… you save such a lot of money on these…… I can make you a hot bacon sandwich….. he said they put something on the teeth….. I don’t know how long we’ve been here for…… higher arms when you’re younger….. I thought, bouncing like a banana, what was he thinking!……. ….. … … … do you ever feel like you’ve just stumbled into a conversation and have absolutely no idea what’s going on?….. me, frequently…. I seem to approach every day inadvertently like that, not having the faintest clue what’s happening…… yet still I will bust a gut trying to make sense of it…. this cacophony of images, splattering of sound, chomping of voices gobbling, gobbling silence with their mouths open…… all that nonsense at the beginning of todays bloggery I overheard in a cafe, snippets of found-conversation from different mouths, tables, chats, as people came and went so did their conversation leaving me with a plethora of mysteriously baffling ‘statements‘…… I scribbled and scribbled each one wishing I could write with both hands at the same time (now that’s a party trick) and surrendered to not making sense of them as they emerged in and out of earshot…… it’s like trying to catch confetti in a gale…….. I now have reams of this non’sense‘ and a niggling need to know how to bounce like a banana…….

Leave a Reply

