advent · birds · Christmas · December · diary · midwinter · mince pies · solstice · winter

one mince pie, 22nd December 2016

one by one finally they appeared… for the three days I stayed there I heard them….. their little thin winter voices outside the window of the room where I was staying in the deep morning darkly woodland but not once did any appear….and then, just as I was leaving I peered out one last time and one by one finally they appeared…… first one long-tailed tit, then another and another and a few and then several, as they do, traveling in bobbling flocks through the trees bounding from branch to branch like the superheroes of the bird world……. and then a blue tit, then another. following with them… a great tit too, and more… and yet more long-tailed…….. far below a blackbird probably also baffled by this intrusion to its usually relative quiet skitted through the undergrowth most disconcerted….. then a treecreeper!…. then another!…… a common bird but hard to ever spot…. suddenly the wood was alive heralded by long-tailed tits….. all come to wave me off… or so I convinced myself anyway……. I got given a free mince pie from a shop…. gluten-free too!…. how could I refuse…. “to boost the christmas spirit” they said with a grin……. it would have to be one hell of a mince pie to make me feel it…. my first this year, haven’t eaten it yet…….. and when I say mince pie I mean the one with stewed fruit, not mince… meat, don’t eat…. yuk!…….. I could give it to the birds, the mince pie that is, but…… I’m far too selfish for that…. it’s mine, mine, MINE!……. I shall scoff it all, all, ALL!…… (…. evil laughter…)…. mince pies! show no mercy…………

Leave a Reply

