culture · depression · diary · language · lexicon · linguistics · noise · sociolingistics · sociology · words

is language really, 29th October 2016

is there really anything to say?….. is language really worthy of our thoughts, or do them justice?…. are there enough words to truly paint an precise translation of what’s in our minds, or even propose an acceptable impression?……… are there enough legible combinations to do any more than merely distil them 1 part per million?……… simplified, summarised transliterations decorated in pitch, tone and punctuation in the vain hope it somehow says what we want it to say, what we want to say…….. a slip of the tongue, a word out of place, lost in translation, we speak the same language and don’t…… only I speak me, and you speak you, your ‘me‘….. bouncing between small-talk and freewheeling discourse taking in some deep and meaningful along the way all the while trying not to come off the rails…….. is there really anything to say?… just a stream of vanity…. listen to me, to me, I want you all to know what I know……. all noise and more noise…… once something’s said it’s ‘out there‘, until you say something louder to smother its echo…. how many words are spoken in a single day?…… a lot I imagine…. are big words better than small words or is brevity the key?………. is someone with more to say worth hearing than another with less?….. does repetition help?…. the problem with a larger vocabulary is your brain might pop!……. which’d be messy………. aside from how many words you know, how many do you need?…. like chords for a song, three chords or umpteen?……….. I talk and soon I get bored of what I’m saying, of me, of the sound, of the words not saying I want them to say, my voice just drones, scratching like tinnitus……. how many people are talking right___ now?…. it must be deafening….

Leave a Reply

