shut up! 26th October 2016

hot on the heels of mindfulness and overpriced colouring books comes… ta da!…… silence…. welcome to_____________ silence___________ all cash, cheques and plastic accepted……. how to be silent…… shut up!…… ok, a tad flippant I realise, but paying to be ‘taught‘ how to be ‘silent‘ makes me go hummmm…. in the same way as paying to be ‘taught‘ how to ‘turn off your mobile/cell/ smart (delete as appropriate) phones’….. all to escape the noise……. mostly our own noise, the noise we attract like noise-magnets, the noise we emit like noise-horns….. there isn’t a switch for it, [on[off]…….. silence isn’t sensory deprivation either as that’s, well, exactly what it says it is…… it’s not a bubble to spend a weekend in only to return to the same old same old afterwards……… though a weekend ‘away from it all’ is no bad thing, this can be anything as long as it’s not doing as I said, the same old same old…….. it’s all wasted anyway if all you’re doing is ticking the [silence] box……. I’m no great example, I let things get to me, bug me, tire me, people annoy me in general, I’m intolerant all too often, cynical, and yes, sarcastic for my sins (note: the tone of this blog for instance).…….. silence is listening, starts with you…. and silence is hearing…….. it isn’t deafness as there’s no such thing, ask anyone with a hearing impairment, like me, even in zero-gravity I’ll always be hearing that ‘noise‘ in my ears/head/skull……. thoughts too, wow they’re noisy…….. and talking, yes, stop talking, that’s a good start….. you can sit still or walk around, your choice…… there’s no trick or diploma at the end…….. I’m blah-blahing again….. shut up! I hear you cry…. maybe time for me to practice a little silence now__________________

Leave a Reply

