anxiety · diary · meditation · noise · recording · silence · sound · Space

one two one two, 6th October 2016

testing, testing…. is this thing working?….. testing…. 1, 2, 3……. try the plug….. have you switched it on?…… yes, at the ‘on’ switch…. or is it an ‘off’ switch?……. can’t hear myself for the silence…. who’d have thought silence could be so huge…….. in space apparently no one can hear you scream…… I wonder if they would hear you hum then instead… a hum isn’t a scream…….. if space had some kind of atmosphere then I bet there’d be plenty of sound… can you imagine the cacophony and randomness…… it’s probably better there isn’t then, it’d be deafening and still no one would hear you scream for all the clatter…….. can you adjust the balance?…… yes, sounding a bit lop-sided here, and no one likes a lop-sided blog…… it’s my space, personal space, me in my car, driving at night surrounded by lots of night, and the odd star or million… my world reduced to headlights and a quiet, orange dashboard glow………. I’m getting an echo from somewhere, have you got the reverb on?…… don’t be clever and turn it off…… while you’re at it take a notch off the treble and tweak the bass… yes, tweak……. not a lot… down a bit…. there, that’ll do…….. when I say I like peanut butter I get people either enthusiastically agreeing or doing impressions of throwing-up……. what I’ve found is everyone seems to have their own impressions of what I mean…… there are so many different makes and types and I’m a fusspot, only the best for me, not your over-processed smoothed to within an millimetre of its third dimension yak….. made with only dry-roasted peanuts, whole-skinned, this way you don’t even need any oil!…. are you sure-sure this is working… testing, testing…… 1, 2, 1, 2…..

Leave a Reply

